On a Set of Personal Beliefs

Photo Credit: Deb Achak Photography

Photo Credit: Deb Achak Photography

The great thing about life is that you get your own personal beliefs. They are yours and yours alone.

I don’t believe in the afterlife, however I do believe that we are all part of something much greater than our solitary selves and that when we die, our energy (life force? soul?) must go someplace.

I don’t believe in destiny, however I do believe in the basic premise of luck. Of course, in most cases, I believe you simply make your own good luck through hard work.

I don’t believe in karma, however I do believe you have responsibility to be as good a person as you can be in this life when it comes to work, family, friendships and everything in between.

I don’t believe in the idea of entitlement. I do believe, however, in hard work. In every industry there are those unwilling to make it happen to the best of their abilities, and if you are simply willing to outwork them, you will be successful in life as well as in business.

I don’t believe in doing things the established or accepted way. Most great ideas come about from those willing to break things or question the status quo. When was the last time following the well worn path led to anything truly unique?

I don’t believe that where you are at any time in life is set in stone. I’ve always believed that you have the power to change your path at any time if you are willing to work for it and not only take responsibility for those decisions but accept the fact that it may be bumpy along the way and many may question you.

Finally, I don’t believe we live in our own personal vacuum. I believe that many of the daily decisions we make are tied into the fabric of our lives and others as well. Every decision we make has an impact, whether positive or negative, no matter how great or how small.

Matthew Achak

About Matthew Achak

I am one of the the co-founders and President of First Call Resolution (FCR). FCR was founded in 2005 in Roseburg, OR as a disruptor to the call center and business process outsourcing industry. My role within the firm involves actively managing all company wide sales, marketing, business development, social media, public relations and client facing communications / ongoing program growth. My goal for FCR has always been to make it the most respected and disruptive outsource provider in the industry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment